Health Plan Levels

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Plans in the health insurance marketplace (the marketplace in Rhode Island is HealthSource RI) that are primarily separated into four health plan categories—Bronze, Silver, Gold, or Platinum—based on the percentage the plan pays of the average overall cost of providing essential health benefits to members. The plan category you choose affects the total amount you'll likely spend for essential health benefits during the year. The percentages the plans will spend, on average, are 60 percent (Bronze), 70 percent (Silver), 80 percent (Gold), and 90 percent (Platinum). This isn't the same as coinsurance, in which you pay a specific percentage of the cost of a specific service.

Glossary Topic:


Node Weight: 

Healthcare Words Category:

Healthcare Reform Glossary: